Center Presents

Chamber Music Society

The Palladium // Monday, Jan 1, 12am

Promo Code:

Five consummate musicians deliver 19th century gems from Beethoven, Schubert and Bottesini before combining forces for Schubert's “Trout Quintet,” one of the most popular works in the chamber repertory. The program begins with Beethoven’s variations on Mozart’s “The Magic Flute” for cello and piano; Schubert’s Sonata in A-minor for viola and piano; and Bottesini’s Gran duo concertante for violin, bass and piano.


The Chamber Music Society’s annual schedule includes a full performance season in New York, a full season of national and international touring, nationally televised broadcasts on PBS’ Live From Lincoln Center and regular broadcasts on SiriusXM and American Public Media’s Performance Today.



Classics in Context
7:15-7:45pm | Robert Adam Room


Join us for a preconcert discussion led by Linda Pohly, Professor of Music History and Musicology at Ball State University. Complimentary for ticketholders, this lecture provides attendees an insider’s perspective on the works being performed at our classical performances. 




Ludwig van Beethoven: Variations on “Bei Mannern, welche Liebe Fuhlen” from “The Magic Flute” for cello and piano.


Theme: Andante
Variation I
Variation II
Variation III
Variation IV
Variation V: Si prenda il tempo un poco più vivace
Variation VI: Adagio
Variation VII: Allegro ma non troppo


Franz Schubert: Sonata in A-minor, Viola and Piano, D. 821, “Arpeggione”


  1. Allegro moderato
  2. Adagio


III. Allegretto


Giovanni Bottesini: Gran duo concertante for Violin, Bass and Piano


Franz Schubert: Quintet in A-Major for Piano, Violin, Viola, Cello, and Bass, D. 667, Op. 114, “Trout”


  1. Allegro vivace
  2. Andante


III. Scherzo: Presto


  1. Andantino – Allegretto
  2. Allegro giusto





Plan Your Visit

Learn about attractions at the Center as well as dining, shopping and other amenities in the surrounding City Center neighborhood.

More information...

Directions and Parking

Take the stress out of your Center visit with our guide to the most convenient routes and parking options, including valet service, accessible spaces and free garage parking just steps away from our campus.

More information...