Skip to Global Menu Skip to Page Content Skip to Footer

Carmel Symphony Orchestra

Masterworks 2

The Palladium // Saturday, Nov 11, 7:30pm ET

Masterworks 2

Tickets Start At:
Promo Code:


Coleman Umoja, Anthem of Unity

Ravel Tombeau de Couperin

Ives Variations on America

Still Afro American Symphony, No. 1


Opening with a powerful and evocative performance of Valerie Coleman's "Umoja, Anthem of Unity", this CSO performance will weave together intricate melodies and rhythms inspired by African and African-American musical traditions, creating a celebration of unity and cultural richness.


Next, prepare to be transported to a bygone era with its Baroque influences and graceful melodies by Maurice Ravel's "Tombeau de Couperin"


Charles Ives' "Variations on America" injects an element of playfulness into the concert, where symphony musicians tackle this innovative and daring exploration of the American national anthem. With its surprising twists and turns, Ives challenges the conventional boundaries of orchestral music.


Lastly, delve into William Grant Still's groundbreaking "Afro American Symphony, No. 1." This pioneering work, the first symphony by an African-American composer to be performed by a major orchestra, exudes a profound sense of pride and identity. Its blend of African-American folk themes with European classical forms showcases the rich cultural tapestry of America.


Experience awe and inspiration at the Palladium. This Carmel Symphony Orchestra's Masterworks Concert stands as a testament to the enduring power of music to connect contemporary voices and perspectives.


Experience an unforgettable evening. Grab your tickets now for best seats!


Listen Live | Listen Often